Thursday, 14 November 2013
Setbacks
I struggle with accepting setbacks...and viewing my time to heal as wasted time. My eye got an infection on Saturday and became so bad on Tuesday that I went to what I call the 'fake' emergency room. Now I am on a strong antibiotic and fighting nausea...my eye looks much better but my stomach is WAY worse. And when I feel nauseous, all I want to do is curl up on the couch and eat crap. Where does the idea come from that when I feel sick, I should eat more? That filling up the pouch will make it NOT feel worse? And I keep doing it!!! Sometimes I feel like I never learn my lessons and must keep repeating the same mistakes over and over and over. This recurring theme is getting old and so am I. My triathlon training has helped a little in this regard as pushing myself too hard or fast, has caused injuries (broken FEET), soiled clothing (yup, what you think), and passing out at my front door (and almost NOT at home, ALONE). I have learned to change my own bike tires, take a breather in the shade during a hot run and making the decision to cut a workout short when the weather is bad. Baby steps. Tomorrow back into the weights with a light workout and lots of stretching... And honoring my body and how I feel.
Tuesday, 5 November 2013
Oh the pain of movement!
I had forgotten how much it hurts to work in long forgotten muscles. For the past 3 days I have restarted my whole body exercises in the morning. Today as I was sitting in a course at work, I realized how much it hurt to just sit on my glute muscles!! Now when it was time to stand up at break time, I could hardly move! This decreased mobility continued throughout the day and as I sit on the lounger, I debate taking pain killers for sleep time. To take or not to take, can I sleep without them? Tomorrow morning's routine may be ugly but I am going to try my Recoverite and see if that helps... Never done this for weights, just running...
Monday, 4 November 2013
Whole body exercises=SORENESS!!
I decided the other day that it was time to get back to whole body exercises and working with weights. I have only done weight training sporadically over the past 3 years as my focus has been on triathlon. I have noticed that I have not felt as toned as I used to and I want that back.
SO I decided to get back on the bandwagon, pull out my 15min Women's Health magazine exercises book and do it!! Yesterday I did a routine of 4 different exercises and didn't feel TOO bad. Today I did 7 different ones (okay, the title was Bikini body workout 1 let's just leave it at that as I have NO illusions about wearing a bikini) and what is supposed to take 15min took me closer to 30min! And tons of sweat and some swearing I will admit too...forgot about wearing a sweatband!
Then because I hadn't done any cardio in over 4 days, I went for a run this afternoon...not my best idea as now I feel like a sack of lead! I have been a little worried lately that I have no fitness goal looming and I am becoming lazy. I have to sign up for the Great Divide Tour and get my mojo back!! (www.greatdividetour.com)
This is so intimidating to me as it is riding a mountain bike from Canmore, over the mountains to Whitefish, MT in 5 days!! YIKES!! Even Ironman was only a one day event!! FIVE!!! This trip is actually 7 days but FIVE of cycling. I have NEVER done anything like this in my life and completely freaked out about it and now I am questioning my fitness. I have decided I need to work on these exercises 6 days a week for the next month and see how I feel. Too much? Supposedly the 15-20min a day is fine and no need for a day off in the middle...we will see how the motivation holds up...and my muscles!! Stay tuned!
SO I decided to get back on the bandwagon, pull out my 15min Women's Health magazine exercises book and do it!! Yesterday I did a routine of 4 different exercises and didn't feel TOO bad. Today I did 7 different ones (okay, the title was Bikini body workout 1 let's just leave it at that as I have NO illusions about wearing a bikini) and what is supposed to take 15min took me closer to 30min! And tons of sweat and some swearing I will admit too...forgot about wearing a sweatband!
Then because I hadn't done any cardio in over 4 days, I went for a run this afternoon...not my best idea as now I feel like a sack of lead! I have been a little worried lately that I have no fitness goal looming and I am becoming lazy. I have to sign up for the Great Divide Tour and get my mojo back!! (www.greatdividetour.com)
This is so intimidating to me as it is riding a mountain bike from Canmore, over the mountains to Whitefish, MT in 5 days!! YIKES!! Even Ironman was only a one day event!! FIVE!!! This trip is actually 7 days but FIVE of cycling. I have NEVER done anything like this in my life and completely freaked out about it and now I am questioning my fitness. I have decided I need to work on these exercises 6 days a week for the next month and see how I feel. Too much? Supposedly the 15-20min a day is fine and no need for a day off in the middle...we will see how the motivation holds up...and my muscles!! Stay tuned!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)